Brazil Cup football predictions, goalscorers and fixtures

Brazil Cup

Originally the Copa do Brasil was contested by 32 clubs

The Copa do Brasil is a KO football competition in which 91 teams representing all 26 Brazilian states and the federal district. It is the Brazilian National Cup and its Brazilian counterpart to the FA Cup, the Taça de Portugal, the Copa del Rey, the Coupé de France, the Coppa Italia, the DFB Cup, the KNVB Cup, the United States. Open Cup and Copa Argentina. The Copa do Brasil is an opportunity for teams from smaller states to play against the big teams. "Giant killing" by these smaller clubs has occurred regularly throughout the history of the contest. The cup winner will automatically qualify for the next Copa Libertadores de América, the prestigious continental football tournament in which COMNEBOL organizes top clubs in South America.

Need football betting tips for free ? Or place free bet on premier league football fixture ? 9ja.bet gives you the guidance in your football betting. Find the best football odds, read premier league news or latest premier league videos. Will Chelsea or Arsenal win the game ? Who will be the goalscorer, Abraham ? 9ja.bet provides daily updated football betting tips and predictions.

Originally the Copa do Brasil was contested by 32 clubs. The number of participants increased to 40 in 1996, rose to 69 by the year 2000 and stabilized at 64 after 2001, which was the case until 2012. Clubs from all 26 Brazilian states and the federal district take part in it.

From 2001 to 2012, the Copa do Brasil was held in the first half of the year, and in those seasons, teams playing in the Copa Libertadores did not participate in the Copa do Brasil due to high scheduling in the same year. The Copa do Brasil champion never defended his title in the next edition as he would qualify for the Copa Libertadores this year.

As of 2013, 86 teams will take part in the Cup and the teams participating in the Copa Libertadores will play directly in the first knockout round of the Copa do Brasil. In addition, the best 8 teams of the Campeonato Brasileiro Série A of the previous year dropped out to third place from round qualifying for the Copa Sudamericana. From 2017, 91 teams contested the trophy.

The tournament was sponsored by Continental AG from 2016 and is currently designated for sponsorship reasons as Copa Continental Pneus do Brasil (English: Continental Tires Brazil Cup).

Cruzeiro is the most successful club that has won the competition six times, followed by Gremio with 5 titles, Corinthians, Palmeiras and Flamengo with 3. Another 10 clubs have won one edition of the competition, resulting in a total of 15 champions. The state with the highest number of titles is São Paulo with 9 titles. Only two states have champions from more than one city: São Paulo (Jundiaí, Santo André, Santos and São Paulo) and Rio Grande do Sul (Caxias do Sul and Porto) Alegre). Rio de Janeiro is the only city with more than two master societies (Flamengo, Fluminense and Vasco da Gama).

The competition is a single-knockout knockout tournament with two-legged tie. If the away team wins the first game with 2 or more goals in the first two rounds, it goes straight to the next round, avoiding the second leg. The away-goal rule will be used in the Copa do Brasil, which is unusual compared to other competitions in South America (the Copa Libertadores did not take that rule until 2005). However, the away goal rule will not apply if both teams come from the same city.

Since the founding of the tournament in 1989, the tournament winner qualifies for the Copa Libertadores de América next year.

facebook sharing button   twitter sharing button   sharing button

Responsible Gambling information

Follow us:

facebook follow button     twitter follow button

Home    Bet Today    Contact

Copyright © 2023  Soccervista: Betting Tips, Nigeria