Gibraltar premier football league table, goalscorers and fixtures

rotate for better view

Gibraltar Premier Division was a football league founded in 1905

The Gibraltar Premier Division was a football league founded in 1905 by the Gibraltar Football Association (GFA) and the first football league in Gibraltar. It originally had eight member clubs, but has grown over the years. In 1909, the league was divided into two divisions, between which the clubs can be promoted and dismounted at the end of each season. In the 2013/14 season, the Premier Division consisted of eight clubs, the Second Division of 12 clubs. For sponsorship reasons, it is referred to as the Argus Insurance Premier Division.

9ja.bet monitor football Livescore every minute, but what is more important is to predict how Premier league football fixture will end. Simply predict the possibility if Chelsea or Arsenal win, and who will score the goal. Will Everton beat Manchester United ? Or Newcastle suprise Liverpool ? Who knows ? We predict and provides premier league betting predictions. 9ja.bet provides daily updated premier league betting tips and betting tips for Championship and Legue One, League Two.

In the 2014/15 season, the champions entered the UEFA Champions League first qualifying round as a result of their membership of UEFA. The winner of the Gibraltar Cup competition, the Rock Cup, qualified to qualify for the UEFA Europa League the following season. In the season 2016/17 Gibraltar occupied in the Europa League qualifying round another place for the runner-up. In 2019, the league merged with the Gibraltar Second Division and became the Gibraltar National League.

Football in Gibraltar dates back to 1892, when military personnel began to play the role of Prince of Wales. By 1895, the number of clubs had grown so much that the Gibraltar Football Association was founded and began a tournament (the predecessor of the Premier Division), the Merchants Cup, where Gibraltar won the inaugural competition. In 1907, the Premier Division officially took shape, and Prince of Wales won the first full season of league football in Gibraltar. The team won 19 championship titles before giving up in the 1950s for a while.

Since the founding of the league, football has been played almost every season, along with the Gibraltar Second Division (founded in 1909) and a national cup competition, the Rock Cup. After the FA was admitted to UEFA in 2013, the Gibraltar Premier Cup was launched to allow more competitive matches for the major league teams.

Due to the limited and amateurish nature of the league in the past, the competition was prone to domination at certain times: for example, the dominance of Prince of Wales at the beginning of the 20th century and the 10 championship titles in 11 seasons that Glacis won in the 1960s and 1970s united. Currently, Lincoln Red Imps are the dominant team in the division, having won every season since 2000/01 except for the 2001-02 through 2017 season. However, UEFA's acceptance and potential for greater professionalism in the league have opened the championship The possibility of other teams closing the gap, with teams like Manchester 62 and Lynx moving into the 2013/14 season. This happened in the 2016/17 season, when Europa FC won its first title in over 60 years.

In 2018, the Gibraltar Federation announced changes in the league, increasing the quota of "home grown players" to 3 players per team, as well as introducing salary limits (for seniors) from 2019) and introducing the Gibraltar Intermediate League that replaces the Reserve League and the U18 league to drive local player development.

For the 2019-20 season, the Premier Division and Second Division are merged to form a single division for Gibraltar, known as the Gibraltar National League.

facebook sharing button   twitter sharing button   sharing button

Responsible Gambling information

Follow us:

facebook follow button     twitter follow button

Home    Bet Today    Contact

Copyright © 2023  Soccervista: Betting Tips, Nigeria