Home    Menu

Uruguay Primera division football league predictions, goalscorers, table and fixtures

Uruguay Primera division

Liga Profesional de Primera División-Torneo Uruguayo Copa Coca-Cola

The Liga Profesional de Primera División, called "Torneo Uruguayo Copa Coca-Cola", is a sponsor of the highest professional football league in Uruguay and organized by the Uruguayan Football Association (AUF).

The first championship took place in 1900 and was an amateur competition until 1932, when the league became professional. From 1900 until the season 2014/15 there were 111 Erstligasaisonen.

Need football betting tips for free ? Or place free bet on premier league football fixture ? 9ja.bet gives you the guidance in your football betting. Find the best football odds, read premier league news or latest premier league videos. Will Chelsea or Arsenal win the game ? Who will be the goalscorer, Abraham ? 9ja.bet provides daily updated football betting tips and predictions.

In 2011, the Uruguayan Primera División was ranked by the International Federation of Football History and Statistics (IFFHS) as the 23rd most difficult football league of the 21st century.

Peñarol / CURCC is the most successful Uruguayan club with 50 titles. The second most successful club is Nacional with 46 titles. Of the clubs that won titles, only Rampla Juniors has not won several titles. Rampla Juniors and Wanderers were the only clubs that did not win consecutive titles.

The Uruguayan Primera División was first held in 1900. Between 1923 and 1925, a dissident league, the Federación Uruguaya de Football, was founded under the Uruguayan football schism. The facility worked in parallel with the official association (AUF). After an intervention by the Uruguayan government to enforce the dissolution of the FUF, a Provisional Council ("Concejo Provisorio") organized a championship in 1926 to unify the two organizations. Peñarol was the winner of Serie A of the tournament. However, neither FIFA nor FIFA have recognized the titles of championships organized by FUF or CP.

From 1930 to 1975, either Nacional or Peñarol won every title. This series was finally interrupted when Defensor won his first title in 1976. Apart from Nacional or Peñarol, no other club has won consecutive titles. Both Peñarol (1958 to 1962 and 1993 to 1997) and Nacional (1939 to 1943) hold the record titles and win five consecutive titles. The longest period, in which neither Peñarol nor Nacional won the title, lasted from 1987 to 1991, when Defensor, Danubio, Progreso, Bella Vista and again Defensor won the five tournaments held during this time.

After 1994, the competition was divided into two phases, the opening championship (Torneo Apertura) and the final championship (Torneo Clausura), with the winners of these two tournaments claiming a two-legged final at the end of the season.

Originally, the league, like other South American football leagues, was held after summer-summer calendars in the Southern Hemisphere. In 2005, the league started with the "European season", which lasted from summer to summer in the northern hemisphere from August, to prevent clubs from losing many players in the middle of the season. In the first half of 2005, a special tournament was held to decide on the qualification for international competition. In the 2005-06 season, the winners of the Apertura and Clausura tournaments played a play-off with two (or three) legs. The winner of these playoffs played against the best team in the overall table to determine the season champion in 2005/06.

In the 2006/07 season, the competition was reduced to 16 clubs. The 2008-09 season should be the last one played in the "European season", as the system apparently could not prevent clubs from losing players between the Apertura (opening) tournament and the Clausura (final) game. However, the transition did not take place for several years. After having played a regular 2015/16 season, a short 2016 season was played in the second half of the year, with the full calendar year system being reintroduced starting in the 2017 season.

facebook sharing button  

Responsible Gambling information

Follow us:

facebook follow button     twitter follow button

Home    Bet Today    Contact

Copyright © 2024  Soccervista: Betting Tips, Nigeria