Home    Menu

Uruguay football predictions, goalscorers and fixtures

Back to select country

Uruguay Primera division

Uruguayan team is commonly referred to as La Celeste (The Sky Blue)

The Uruguayan national football team represents Uruguay in the international football association and is controlled by the Uruguayan Football Association, the football governing body in Uruguay. The current head coach is Óscar Tabárez. The Uruguayan team is commonly referred to as La Celeste (The Sky Blue). They have won the Copa América 15 times, the most successful national team of the tournament. The most recent title was the 2011 edition. The team has won the FIFA World Cup twice, including hosting the first World Cup in 1930, defeating Argentina 4-2 in the final. They won their second title in 1950 and bothered hosts Brazil 2-1 in the final, which had as many spectators as ever before in a football game.

Need football betting tips for free ? Or place free bet on premier league football fixture ? 9ja.bet gives you the guidance in your football betting. Find the best football odds, read premier league news or latest premier league videos. Will Chelsea or Arsenal win the game ? Who will be the goalscorer, Abraham ? 9ja.bet provides daily updated football betting tips and predictions.

They won gold medals twice in football at the Summer Olympics, 1924 and 1928, before the World Cup was created. Uruguay also won in 1980 the Mundialito, a tournament among the former world champions. Overall, Uruguay has won 20 official titles, a world record for most international titles of a country.

Their success is compounded by the fact that the country has a very small population of around 3.4 million (estimated in 2011). Uruguay is by far the smallest country in the world, which won a World Cup in 1930 with 1.75 million inhabitants. The second-smallest country to win the World Cup is Argentina, with almost 28 inhabitants. Uruguay is also the smallest country that has ever won a World Cup medal. Only six FIFA member states with a current lower population than Uruguay have ever qualified for a World Cup: Northern Ireland (thrice), Slovenia (twice), Wales, Jamaica, Trinidad and Tobago and Iceland.

In 2010, a new generation of football players, led by Luis Suárez, Diego Forlán and Edinson Cavani, formed a team that, after finishing fourth at the 2010 FIFA World Cup, was considered the best in Uruguay in the last four decades. Uruguay opened the tournament with a goalless draw with France, followed by defeats by South Africa (3-0) and Mexico (1-0), who finished with seven points at the top of the group. In the second round they played against South Korea and defeated them 2-1, with striker Luis Suárez scored a double and Uruguay secured for the first time since 1970 a place in the quarterfinals. Against Ghana, the game ended with 1: 1 force the game into extra time. Both teams had their chances in extra time, but Suárez blocked the ball with his hand in the penalty area. Suárez got a red card and Uruguay was despised. Ghana striker Asamoah Gyan missed the subsequent penalty and forced the game to go into penalties, where Uruguay would win 4-2 and send them to the last four. They played the Netherlands in the semifinals, but were beaten 3-2. For the match for third place they played against Germany and lost again with 3: 2 Thus, Uruguay finished fourth place in the tournament, the best result in 40 years. Diego Forlan was awarded as player of the tournament.

A year later, for the first time in 16 years, they won the Copa America and broke the record for the most successful team in South America. Luis Suárez became the player of the tournament. At the 2014 World Cup, Uruguay were placed in Group D alongside Costa Rica, England and Italy. They were upset by Costa Rica in the opening match and lost 3-1 despite the lead in the first half. They recovered with a 2-1 win over England, where Suárez scored a duel following an injury, and a 1-0 victory over Italy, taking second place in their group and taking a place in the last 16 Forward Luis Suárez has left Italian defender Giorgio Chiellini on the left shoulder in the game against Italy. Two days after the match, the FIFA Disciplinary Committee Suárez banned nine international matches, the longest such ban in the history of the World Cup, overriding the eight-player ban imposed on Italy by Mauro Tassotti in 1994 over a Spaniard Luis Enrique's nasal failure. Suárez was also banned from participating in football-related activities (including entering a stadium) for four months and fined CHF 100,000 (approximately £ 65,700 / € 82,000 / US $ 119,000) , In the second round played Uruguay against Colombia, but was beaten 2-0 and eliminated from the tournament.

facebook sharing button  

Responsible Gambling information

Follow us:

facebook follow button     twitter follow button

Home    Bet Today    Contact

Copyright © 2024  Soccervista: Betting Tips, Nigeria